Jun 2021

31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 1 2 3 4


Tactile Quartert(s) - Vera Tussing & Quatuor MP4

mon 02/09/2019 > wed 11/09/2019

In Tactile Quartet(s), Vera Tussing builds on her previous choreographic explorations in the sensory engagement of an audience. This time around Tussing invites string quartet Quatuor MP4 to join four dancers on stage for a playful encounter between movement and sound. What if we take the movements of a string quartet seriously as a choreography – and dance along?

Four musicians play excerpts of multiple quartets from Franz Schubert, Anton Dvorak, Florence Price to contemporary works by Georg Friedrich Haas and Caroline Shaw. As the musicians engage in one-on-one tactile encounters with the audience, they create a physical play back. Everything arises from touch - a bow on a string, an arm on a shoulder, a sound on your skin. The dancers mediate the encounter between musicality and tactility through a choreography that oscillates between the felt, the seen and the heard. At the point where the orbits of dance and music intersect, the audience is invited to enter into its kaleidoscopic score and asked to give a hand – or an arm.

Creation & direction: Vera Tussing | Co-creation & dance: Zoltan Vakulya, Yoh Morishita, Esse Vanderbruggen, Vera Tussing | Co-creation & music: Quatuor MP4 (Claire Bourdet, Margaret Hermant, Pierre Heneaux, Merryl Havard) | Musical collaboration & technical direction: Michael Picknett | Rehearsal support: Bun Kobayashi | Costume & Set: Jivan van der Ende | Contextual Research & Dramaturgy: JS Rafaeli & Sebastian Kann | Production: Hiros | Co-production: Kaaitheater | Residencies: STUK, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Wpzimmer, workspacebrussels.

Supported by: Flemish Government In collaboration with: Universal Edition Wien, Auteursbureau ALMO Antwerpen

Thank you: Clara Levy & Quartet partners for their extensive contribution to the research, Gorka Gurrutxaga Arruti, Ehren Verrelst, Arts Printing House Vilnius

Music excerpts: Anton Dvorak (String Quartet in F major, 1893) // Georg Friedrich Haas (Sting Quartet No2, 1998) // Florence Price (String Quartet in G Major, 1929) // Caroline Shaw (Entr’acte, 2011) // Franz Shubert (String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, 1831) // Michael Picknett (original score created in collaboration with Quatuor MP4)